Home / Textile Study / Fibre & Yarn / Source and Classification of Cotton Fiber

Source and Classification of Cotton Fiber

Classification of cotton Fiber:

Cotton fiber is obtained from a natural source, it obtained from cotton plant &  it is classified as a

  1. Natural Fiber.
  2. Cellulose Fiber.
  3. Seed Fiber.
  4. Mono-cellular Fiber.
  5. Staple fiber.

Classification of cotton based on staple length:

Commercial cottons may be classified broadly into three categories with reference to the staple length:

  1. Staple Length: (26- 65 mm)

Includes the fine, lustrous fibers which from the top quality cottons. The fibers are generally of 10-15 microns diameter.

Sea Island, Egyptian and American Pima cottons are in this category.

2.Staple length (12- 33 mm)

Include the medium strength, medium lustre cottons  which form the bulk of the world crop. The fibers are generally of 12-17 microns diameter.

American upland and some Peruvian types come into this category.

  1. Staple length (9- 26 mm)

Includes the coarse, low grade fibers which are often low in strength and have little or no lustre. The fibers are generally of 13-32 microns diameter.

Many of the Asiatic, Indian and some Peruvian cottons come into this category.

Botanical Classification of Cotton:

Cotton bears the botanical name Gossypium a member of the “Mallow” family. There are 50 species of cotton plants however only four (04) of them have attained commercial importance.

1.Gossypium Barbedence:

Sea Island cotton, Egyptian cotton, American cotton are belongs to this class

  1. Gossypium Harbaceum:

China cottons belongs to this class.

  1. Gossypium Hirsutum:

They are mostly cultivated in south and North America.

  1. Gossypium Paruvianum:

They are originally from South America but also grown in India, Pakistan and China.